The Kurdish Digital Library (BNK)
Retour au resultats
Imprimer cette page
Journals Journals

Kurdistan Times, n° IV

Editor : Compte d'auteur Date & Place : 1996, Fairfax
Preface : Pages : 230
Traduction : ISBN : 1057-8668
Language : EnglishFormat : 150x230 mm
FIKP's Code : Liv. Eng. Kar. Kur. N° 4003Theme : Politics

Presentation Table of Contents Introduction Identity PDF
Kurdistan Times, n° IV

Kurdistan Times, n° IV

Mustafa Al Karadaghi

Compte d'auteur

On March 3, 1994, the Turkish Parliament, known as the Grand National Assembly (GANT), voted to deny parliamentary immunity to eight of its members who are ethnic Kurds. The names of the deputies are: Hatip Dicle, Leyla Zana, Ahmet Turk, Sirri Sakik, Orhan Dogan, Mahmut Alinak, Selim Sadak, and Hassan Mezarci.

The eight deputies protested their denial of parliamentary immunity as a violation of the Turkish Constitution. They barricaded themselves in the Parliament building to avoid arrest. The Turkish police were called and surrounded the Parliament building, guarding all exits. On March 5, 1994, all eight deputies surrendered and were arrested. They were imprisoned in the government’s detention center pending trial by the State Security Court.

“Following the arrest of the MP’s in a scene of chaos, two of the deputies appeared before a regular court. Charges were dismissed...

Foundation-Kurdish Institute of Paris © 2018
Practical Information
Legal Informations
History & notes